European Crime Prevention Award

01 September 2014

The European Crime Prevention Award (ECPA) is a contest which aims to reward the best European crime prevention project. The award got off to a modest start in 1997 with the participation of three countries: United Kingdom, Belgium and the Netherlands. The latter two countries had gained some experience during the preceding three years with the joint organisation of the Roethof Award. The Roethof Award is originally a Dutch crime prevention award, which was instituted in 1987 by the editorial board of the Dutch crime prevention magazine SEC.


Participation in ECPA is open to any project, initiative or package of measures. An objective of the project must be to reduce crime and the fear of crime within the specified theme. Entries can originate from, for example: local authorities, the police, educational institutions, community groups, sports clubs, youth organisations, business community, probation service, neighbourhood watch schemes, parish councils, public transport operators, voluntary organisations/groups.


The persons entering the projects do not need to have participated in the projects themselves. It is entirely possible that the initiative of a third party is brought to the attention of the jury. Each participating country may enter one project for consideration under the European Crime Prevention Award scheme. It is up to each participating country to decide how to select projects for consideration under the scheme. There are some binding criteria:


  • The project shall focus on prevention and/or reduction of everyday crime and fear of crime within the specified theme
  • The project shall have been evaluated and have achieved most or all of its objectives
  • The project shall, as far as possible, be innovative, involving new methods or new approaches
  • The project shall be based on co-operation between partners, where possible
  • The project shall be capable of replication by organisations and groups in other Member States
Download the Council Decision here
716.18 KB


The European Crime Prevention Award (ECPA) and Best Practice Conference (BPC) will take place 13-15 December 2017 in Tallinn, Estonia.


The theme for this years ECPA and BPC is 'Cyber Safety'. Deadline for entries is October 2017. Entries should be submitted through the National Representative of each Member State to the Secretariat. Please be aware that different (shorter) deadlines can apply within individual Member States. Please contact the National Representative of your Member State for further details.

For any further information, please contact the EUCPN Secretariat.

More information on the Best practice Conference >