The prevention of domestic burglary in the spotlight!

The Focus Day will take place on 21 October 2020.
With a prevention campaign and local preventive initiatives, the EUCPN and 26 European countries
aim to step up the fight against this crime by informing citizens on how they can protect their homes.

Domestic burglary is a criminal offence that all European countries are fighting to eliminate. It not only robs victims of their possessions – it can also rob people of their sense of security at home, a place where everyone should feel most safe. Consequently, victims may experience considerable adverse psychological effects. Besides, the financial impact on society makes this an important problem. That is why 26 European countries, united in the EUCPN and EUROPOL, have joined forces to launch this initiative.
The prevention campaign to #StopDomesticBurglaries consists of a poster, a flyer and two short social media posts. This year a radio spot and case movie are added to the material. The case movie includes initiatives from the Member States that participated last year and inspires the national partners to participate in this initiative. Due to Covid-19 and the difficulties to organise physical events, the EU Focus Day 2020 will mostly be an online event. Some municipalities however, will organise local preventive initiatives. All the initiatives and prevention tips are gathered on national websites.
The 26 participating European countries are Austria, Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Spain, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia and Slovakia.
The social media posts

The case movie

The websites with prevention tips

The campaign material was adjusted for

  • Albania
  • Austria (no flyer or case movie)
  • Belgium (Dutch, French and German)
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus (no case movie)
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark (no flyer or case movie)
  • Estonia
  • Germany (no case movie)
  • Spain
  • Finland (no flyer or case movie)
  • France
  • Croatia (no case movie)
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg (French and German)
  • Malta
  • The Netherlands (no flyer)
  • Portugal
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Slovenia (no case movie)
  • Slovakia